RSS Feed

March

Hello everyone,

I suddenly realised when I was looking at my calendar today, that it’s nearly April! Therefore I thought I’d better fill you in, as promised, on my latest adventures this month.

As those of you who read my blog post last month will be aware, I was in New York City at the end of February, so if it’s ok with you, that’s what I’ll mostly be sharing today!

 

I wanna wake up, in a city that doesn't sleep 😀 #newyorkcity #newyork #skyline #manhatten

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

I was there from Monday – Sunday so that gave me plenty of time to explore the city, in comparison to when I went last time.

I also had a lot more freedom because I was with my university, and therefore only had to make sure I registered with the tutors accompanying us in the morning, rather than being shepherded around all day.

 

 

#empirestate #newyorkcity #newyork #skyline #manhatten #nofilter #stunning #sunset

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

I did lots of the typical ‘touristy’ things, such as going up the Empire State building, and visiting Grand Central Station, but I combined this with heading off the beaten track a bit and venturing in to the East Village and Soho etc.

#selfie #empirestate #newyorkcity #newyork #skyline #manhatten #sunset #nofilter #freezing #snow #february

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

I treated myself to a ticket to a Broadway Show – ‘If/Then’ which starred Idina Menzel, which was fantastic.

Those of you who know me, will know that I do love a good show, and it was a valid excuse to get out of the cold temperatures for a couple of hours!

#nofilter #newyorkcity #newyork #skyline #manhatten #centralpark

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

Central Park was obviously a must.

With the amount of snow that was around, it meant that it was absolutely stunning – but again – bloody freezing!

 

#timesquare #newyorkcity #newyork #manhatten #lights #nofilter

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

One thing I’d recommend to anybody visiting NYC, is to be aware that a majority of museums like The Metropolitan, and the Museum of Natural  History have advertised “ticket prices” but actually they’re just suggested donations.

This meant I could get away with paying about $2 for each museum, although I could’ve donated less – sorry for those of you who might not approve, but I am a student!!

 

How I'm spending my Friday night #moma #museumofmodernart #newyorkcity #newyork #manhatten

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

Another big recommendation, is that a lot of the museums such as the Museum of Art and Design, and the Museum of Modern Art, have evenings in the week when they’re free – I definitely made use of this!

 

What a load of Pollocks…

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

#tb #newyork #skyline #manhattan #newyorkcity #sunset #nofilter #stunning #empirestate

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

Overall I had a really fantastic time in New York City. Yes it was icy and for the majority of the time I couldn’t feel my nose, but it’s a city I’ve definitely fallen in love with, and I’m sure this won’t be my last visit!

This month I can also share a bit more of my University work with you. I’ve been working on a project that’s based on ‘Fairisle’, but putting a modern twist on it.

I studied Politics at A level, so I’ve discovered that unintentionally, a lot of my work has a lot more political meaning and motive behind it than some other peoples.

I based this project around Animal Farm by George Orwell, and then branched out, looking at the Russian Revolution for colour inspiration.

Please bare in mind that this piece isn’t finished, it’s a work in progress that I’m hoping to get finished before I go back after Easter, but here it is nonetheless…

 

 

 

Hopefully next month I’ll have finished it, and you can see it in all its glory!

Something I touched on last month was that I’d been promoted. For those of you who didn’t already know, I was working in a theatre bar down here in my free time, but now I’m a Duty Manager! Which is pretty exciting, slightly terrifying, but definitely rewarding. I’m really loving it, and I work with some great people – I couldn’t really ask for more.

 

I love my job. #dutymanager #theatre #dreamteam

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

So that’s an edited version of what I’ve been up to this month. I’m hoping that there’ll be even more exciting adventures and news to share with you next month, fingers crossed!

However, currently (dare I admit) I’ve just woken up having taking a 2 hour nap, after writing a to-do list that’s about as long as my arm, so I think I’ve got enough to be getting on with!

 

Love this place #library #books #light #winchester #bookgeek

A post shared by Bex Willis (@granny_willis) on

 

Until next month

Bex

x

Leave a Reply

